EDITORIAL

2008 was a successful year for the *IEJ*, with a record high Impact Factor, record high download of articles from the website and a record number of submissions. Clearly, such successes are a reflection of the effectiveness of the editorial team and of the new editorial structure introduced last year, particularly the dynamic team of Associate Editors working in specialist topic areas.

I would like to thank the Associate Editors for their outstanding contribution: Kishor Gulabivala, Jeremy Hayes, Michael Hülsmann, Ove Peters, John Whitworth, Min-Kai Wu, and Matthias Zehnder.

I would also like to thank the Editorial Board and the many Referees we used throughout the year for their contribution to the success of the journal:

Paul Abbott, Guido Aesaert, Michael Ahlquist. Phil Atkin, Graham Bailey, Michael Baumann, Ellen Berggreen, Lars Bergmans, Matthias Bickel, Lars Bjørndal, Gilles Bluteau, Patrick Bogaerts, Peter Bolhuis, Tatiana Botero, Peter Briggs, Paul Brunton, Josette Camilleri, Jean Camps, Dermot Canavan, Peter Carrotte, Nick Chandler, Gary Cheung, Bun San Chong, David Cohen, Ben Cole, Georg Conrads, Margaret Corson, Elisabetta Cotti, Peter Day, Mieke De Bruvne, Roeland De Moor, Gustavo De-Deus, Chris Deery, Nicholas Drage, Peter Duckmanton, Ashraf ElAyouti, Chris Emery, Unni Endal, Carlos Estrela, David Figdor, José Figueiredo, Patrick Flood, Ashraf Fouad, Inge Fristad, Gianluca Gambarini, Franklin Garcia-Godoy, Matt German, Gerald Glickman, Alan Gluskin, Brenda Gomes, Harold Goodis, René Gruythuvsen, James Gutmann, Markus Haapasalo, Sivakami Haug, Jianing He, Brian Henderson, Keith Horner, Preben Hörsted-Bindslev, Tony Hoskinson, George Huang, Bart Huybrechts, Fadi Jarad, Asma Khan, Lise-Lotte Kirkevang, Anil Kishen, Thomas Kvist, Paul Lambrechts, Shaul Lin, Christina Lindh, Matthew Locke, Claus Löst, Robert Love, Phil Lumley, Pierre Machtou, Iain Mackie, Francesco Mannocci, Monika Marending, Bruce Matthews, Paul McCabe, Robert McConnell, Harold Messer, Zvi Metzger, Anders Molander, Eoin Mullane, Peter Murrav, Ram Nair, Sean Nair, Brian Nattress, Mohammad Nekoofar, Yuan-Ling Ng, Takashi Okiji, Richard Oliver, Dag Ørstavik, Ahmet Özok, Frank Paque, Peter Parashos, Shanon Patel, Christine Peters, Linda Peters, Kerstin Petersson, Heather Pitt Ford, Tom Pitt Ford, Isabelle Portenier, Jonathan Pratten, Alison Qualtrough, Derren Ready, Jeremy Rees, John Regan, Kathrin Reichenmiller, John Rhodes, Adam Roberts, Vivian Rushton, Julian Satterthwaite, Bill Saunders, Edgar Schäfer, Jörg Schirrmeister, Patrick Schmidlin, Geoffrey Seccombe, Christine Sedgley, Ann Shearer, Asgeir Sigurdsson, Alastair Sloan, David Sonntag, Valerie Sparkes, Dave Spratt, Vidya Srinivasan, Phil Stashenko, Hideaki Suda, Pia Sunde, Franklin Tay, Fabricio Teixeira, Leo Tjäderhane, Phillip Tomson, Mahmoud Torabinejad, Dimitrios Tziafas, Lucas van der Sluis, Peter Velvart, Frank Vertucci, Morgana Vianna, Thomas von Arx, William Wade, William Walker, Tuomas Waltimo, Paula Waterhouse, Roland Weiger, Richard Welbury, Paul Wesselink, David Witherspoon, Ghassan Yared.

> Paul M.H. Dummer Editor-in-Chief

Two new associate editors appointed to the *IEJ* team



Yuan-Ling (Paula) Ng BDS, MSc, MRD RCS (Eng), FHEA

Paula graduated from the University of Hong Kong in 1985 and spent 9 years practising general dentistry in the Government Dental Service in Hong Kong. She was granted a Hong Kong Government Scholarship to undertake the MSc programme in Endodontics at the Eastman Dental Institute, London, UK in 1994–1995, which she passed with distinction. She then returned to Hong Kong and was promoted to the rank of Senior Dental Officer. In the 2 years that she spent in Hong Kong, she developed a referral endodontic service for the Government Dental Services. She was also appointed Honorary Clinical Lecturer in the University of Hong Kong and contributed to postgraduate teaching. In 1997, she returned to the Eastman as a full-time Clinical Lecturer in Endodontics. She served as the Senior programme coordinator for 10 years and became the Programme Director for the MSc in Endodontics and MClinDent in Endodontology programmes in 2007. She has also lectured to local and international professional bodies.

Paula's research interests include the themes of treatment outcome, endodontic microbiology and tooth biomechanics, pursued by the department but finds particular enjoyment in study design and data analyses. The subject of her recently completed PhD programme was clinical outcome of nonsurgical root canal treatment. She has successfully supervised/co-supervised over 40 MSc/ MClinDent research projects on the above themes and published widely. She serves as a Member of the European Society of Endodontology Research Committee and as a referee for various journals.

Paula will focus her Associate Editor role on Epidemiology, including clinical outcome studies.



Matt German BEng, MSc, PhD

Matthew German is a Lecturer in Dental Materials at Newcastle University, UK. His first degree was in Materials Science awarded at the University of Liverpool (1993), followed by a MSc (1994) and a PhD (1999) in Biomedical Materials both awarded by the University of London. Following completion of his studies. Dr German worked, firstly, as a Research Assistant in London developing new bone cements, and subsequently, as a Research Associate at Lancaster University developing novel scanned probe microscope techniques to characterise the interactions between proteins and synthetic biomaterial surfaces. Since moving to Newcastle, his research has concentrated on developing polymeric scaffolds for tissue engineering and on applying novel sub-micron scale characterisation techniques to dental materials, with a view to improving properties such as wear resistance and bond strength.

Matt will focus his Associate Editor role on Biomaterials.

This document is a scanned copy of a printed document. No warranty is given about the accuracy of the copy. Users should refer to the original published version of the material.