## **Arthur R. Frechette Research Award in Prosthodontics**

The 2005 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics were awarded at the 83rd General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, held March 9–12, 2005, in Baltimore, Maryland.

The annual research competition for new investigators is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Research Group of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) in honor of the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 until 1977.

The 2005 Frechette winners are: Dr Frank Butz, University of Freiburg, Germany, for his study entitled "Enhanced Hardness of Osseointegrated Bone by Titanium Surface Roughness"; and Dr Anna Persson, Karolinska Institutet, Huddinge, Sweden, for her study entitled "Accuracy of a Laser-Scanner Using Innovative Three-Dimensional-Evaluation." In addition to the plaques, Drs Butz and Persson each received a check for \$1,000 thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.

New investigators in prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2006 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and

supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science- or bioengineering-oriented protocol, and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biological sciences- and tissue engineering-oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. Each award carries a cash prize of \$1,000.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in Brisbane, Australia, is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Please check the IADR Web site (www.dental-research.org) for information on when abstracts for the 2006 Arthur R. Frechette Awards in Prosthodontics are due.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation; (2) suitability of the methods of analysis; and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2006 IADR meeting in Brisbane, Australia (June 28 to July 1, 2006) and the winner will be announced during the Prosthodontics Group Business Meeting.



Left to right: Dr Anna Persson; Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Group Program Chair, IADR Prosthodontics Group; Dr J. Robert Kelly, President, IADR Prosthodontics Group; Dr Takahiro Ogawa, mentor to Dr Butz; Jim Robinson, Whip Mix Corporation; and Dr Frank Butz (inset, right-hand corner).

Copyright of International Journal of Prosthodontics is the property of Quintessence Publishing Company Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.