## **2011 Frechette Award**

he winners of the 2011 Frechette Award were recently presented at the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) annual meeting in San Diego, California. The Frechette is the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 until 1977. The winners were Dr Lei Jin, Nanjing General Hospital of Nanjing Military Command, Nanjing, Jiangsu, China, for the study "Property Study of Nano-zirconia Formed by Aqueous Electrophoretic Deposition" and Dr R. Kodali Kanuru, University of California-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California, for the study "Pre-Osseointegrated Implant Using Cell Sheet Technology." In addition to plagues, Drs Jin and Kanuru each received a check for \$1,000 thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.

New investigators in prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2012 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science- or bioengineering-oriented protocol, and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biologic sciences– and tissue engineering–oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. Each award carries a cash prize of \$1,000.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided that it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR by the IADR deadline (January 13, 2012) with the appropriate boxes checked on the online submission (http://iadr. com/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3432).

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2012 IADR meeting in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (June 20–23, 2012), and the winner will be announced at the Prosthodontics Group business meeting.

Stephen F. Rosenstiel, BDS, MSD rosentiel.1@osu.edu



*(left to right)* Dr Takahiro Ogawa, president, IADR Prosthodontics Group; Dr Lei Jin, Frechette Award winner; Dr Jenni Hjerppe, University of Turku, Helsinki, Finland, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Valentim A. Barão, Universidade Est. Paulista Julio Mesquita, Araçatuba, Brazil, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Sho Fukuyasu, Osaka University, Suita-city, Osaka, Japan, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Hiroki Kayashima, Osaka University, Suita-City, Osaka, Japan, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Hiroki Kayashima, Osaka University, Suita-City, Osaka, Japan, Frechette Award finalist; Dr R. Kodali Kanuru, Frechette Award winner; and Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Frechette coordinator, IADR Prosthodontics Group.

293

© 2011 BY QUINTESSENCE PUBLISHING CO, INC. PRINTING OF THIS DOCUMENT IS RESTRICTED TO PERSONAL USE ONLY.. NO PART OF MAY BE REPRODUCED OR TRANSMITTED IN ANY FORM WITHOUT WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THE PUBLISHER Copyright of International Journal of Prosthodontics is the property of Quintessence Publishing Company Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.