2013 Frechette Awards

he winners of the 2013 Frechette Awards were recently presented at the International Association for Dental Research annual meeting in Seattle, Washington. The Frechette is the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the International Association for Dental Research and honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as secretary-treasurer of the IADR from 1968 until 1977. The winners were Dr Miha Brezavscek, Department of Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry, Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg, Germany, for "The Effect of Ultraviolet Light Treatment on the Osteoconductivity of Zirconia-Based Implant Materials" and Dr T. James Lee, Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Tokyo, Japan, for "Compositional Analysis on Mechanical Properties and Biocompatibility of Titanium-Zirconium Alloy." In addition to the plagues, Drs Brezavscek and Lee each received a check for \$1,000 thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.

New investigators in prosthodontics are encouraged to apply for one of two 2014 Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in prosthodontics. Each award recognizes original research by new investigators and is sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. One award is for Prosthodontic research undertaken with a materials science or bioengineering-oriented protocol and the other is for prosthodontic research undertaken with a biological sciences and tissue engineering-oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for the Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. Each award carries a cash prize of \$1,000.

Research submitted for the IADR meeting in Cape Town, South Africa, is eligible for consideration for the Frechette Award, provided it has not been published elsewhere or will not be under consideration for another award. Abstracts must be submitted to the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR by the IADR deadline with the appropriate boxes on the online submission checked.

The abstracts will be judged for (1) originality and scientific design of the investigation, (2) suitability of the methods of analysis, and (3) scientific value of the work. Selected finalists will be judged at the 2014 IADR meeting in Cape Town, South Africa (June 25 to 28, 2014), and the winner will be announced at the Prosthodontics Group business meeting.

Stephen F. Rosenstiel, BDS, MSD rosenstiel.1@osu.edu



The individuals pictured are (left to right) Dr Dan Nathanson, President IADR Prosthodontics Group; Dr Brezavscek, Frechette Award winner; Dr K. Gurzawska, Research Center for Ageing and Osteoporosis, Departments of Medicine and Diagnostics, Copenhagen University Hospital Glostrup, Denmark, Frechette Award finalist; Dr. Lee, Frechette Award winner; Dr Hiroshi Oue, Graduate School of Biomedical and Health Sciences, Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Japan, Frechette Award finalist; Dr Dmitry Royhman, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry, Department of Restorative Dentistry Chicago, Illinois, Frechette Award finalist; and Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Frechette Coordinator IADR Prosthodontics Group. Not pictured, Dr. Weihua Guo, Center for Craniofacial Regeneration, Columbia University, New York, New York, Frechette Award finalist.

Copyright of International Journal of Prosthodontics is the property of Quintessence Publishing Company Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.