AAPHD Annual Business Meeting Minutes

May 4, 2004, Los Angeles Marriott Airport Hotel, Los Angeles, California

The 2004 Annual Business Meeting of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry was called to order at 3:30 PM by President Candace Jones. Jones welcomed the members and reviewed the agenda for the meeting. Of significant importance were the votes on adoption of two new association policies and an update on the AAPHD Strategic Plan.

President-elect Jane Weintraub, cochair for the National Oral Health Conference, reported on several firsts for the conference.

Secretary-Treasurer Mark Greer reported on the fiscal fitness of the association and reviewed the audit report for fiscal year 2002–3. Originally the association had projected a \$15,000 deficit for the budget; in actuality, the association budget came in at breakeven. The 2003–4 fiscal year budget was adopted by the Executive Council in October 2003.

Executive Director Pam Tolson thanked the members for all the support she and her staff have received during their first two years working with the association. She commended the hard work that so many individuals put into the Strategic Plan and indicated how she was looking forward to helping implement the plan.

A Committee Report Summary Sheet was distributed at the meeting summarizing the activities of each committee during the year:

Awards and Nominations Committee—Bill Maas, chair

Selected Merit Award Winners

• Selected 2002 and 2003 JPHD Paper of the Year

• Worked with Sena Narendran on the Student Merit Award Winners

Identified candidates for 2004
Officers and Executive Council

Membership Committee—Jim Sutherland, chair

 Revised Membership Application

• Recommending a merger of the Strategic Goal Committee on Membership into the Standing Membership Committee

• Membership numbers: April 2003, 591 total; April 2004, 791 total. Paid *JPHD* subscriptions: April 2003, 412 paid; April 2004, 466 paid



AAPHD Executive Council. Back row, left to right: Robert Weyant, Mary Foley, Marilyn Woolfolk, Linda Kaste, Candace Jones, E. Joseph Alderman, Becky DeSpain Eden, Barbara Gooch, Diane Brunson. Front row, left to right: Pam Tolson, Jane Weintraub, Kathryn Atchison, Mark Macek.

Oral Health and Policy Committee—Marilyn Woolfolk, chair

• Continuing a review and revision of AAPHD current resolutions and policies

Finance and Development Committee—Mark Greer, chair

• Implemented the approved Investment Diversification Plan and monitored performance

• Recently reviewed and rediversified cash resources to follow established policies. Met with investment advisor quarterly.

 Began discussion and research on establishment of a corporate roundtable

• Recommended a merger of the Strategic Goal Committee on Finance and Development with the Standing Committee

Education and Science Committee—Francisco Ramos-Gomez, chair

• Developed and recommended policy on the First Oral Health Assessment for approval at 2004 Annual Business Meeting

 Began revision of Fluoride Brochure

 Issued the Call for Abstracts and reviewed for presentations at NOHC

Foundation Committee—Linda Niessen, chair

• Increased Foundation contributions by \$42,000 from October 2002 to October 2003

• Established two new funds: Lotzkar Fund and the Horowitz Scholarship Fund.

• Current bank balance exceeds \$100,000 distributed across three funds

• Holding first event at 2004 NOHC----a dessert reception to benefit the Horowitz Scholarship Fund

Francisco Ramos-Gomez, chair of the Education and Science Committee, submitted a recommendation from the committee on the adoption of the AAPHD First Oral Health Assessment Policy. After a motion, several amendments were discussed and motions were made. In the end, the policy was adopted with two changes. The words "trained lay person" were removed from the policy and the following bullet was added under resolves:

• Recommends that evidencebased and tested curricula for the training of dental and other health care providers be developed and implemented appropriately.

Gustavo Cruz, co-chair of the Ad Hoc Diversity Policy Committee, submitted a recommendation from the committee for the adoption of the proposed Diversity Policy. After a motion and discussion, the policy was adopted with the words "whenever possible" being removed.

Both policies can be reviewed and downloaded from the Web site at www.aaphd.org.

Foundation Committee Chair Linda Niessen reported that the AAPHD Foundation had achieved its first major goal of having raised \$100,000. With that level reached, the AAPHD Foundation cosponsored the 2004 Student Awards along with the association and announced plans for awarding the Herschel S. Horowitz Memorial Scholarship later in 2004. The \$25,000 scholarship will support dentists pursuing dental public health graduate education. The first award will be announced in the fall of 2004.

Robert Mecklenburg installed the 2004–5 AAPHD Officers and Executive Council Members. They are:

President—Jane Weintraub President-elect—Bob Weyant Vice President—Kathryn Atchison Treasurer—Mark Macek Immediate Past President— Candace Jones

Council Members—Jim Sutherland, Mary Foley, Marilyn Woolfolk, Linda Kaste, Diane Brunson (new), Barbara Gooch (new) Past President Candace Jones recognized and thanked departing officers and council members: Past President Bill Maas, Secretary-Treasurer Mark Greer, Council Members Francisco Ramos-Gomez and Ron Romero.

President Weintraub and Past President Jones then presented an overview of the progress made on the Strategic Plan and announced the goals that had been prioritized for implementation during the next year. Jones then gave special recognition to the chairs of the Strategic Goal Committees by presenting each an "OOHFA Award." Special thanks were also given to the over 80 AAPHD members who have participated in the strategic planning process.

A brief meeting of the Strategic Goal committees was held to recruit new committee members and to identify the next steps for action. Their being no further business, the 2004 AAPHD Annual Business Meeting was adjourned. Copyright of Journal of Public Health Dentistry is the property of American Association of Public Health Dentistry and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.