Highlights of the 1996 AAPHD Annual Meeting

September 25–27, 1996 Holiday Inn International Drive Orlando, Florida

The 59th Annual Meeting of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry was held on September 25–27, 1996, at the Holiday Inn International Drive, Orlando, Florida. The theme for this year's meeting was "Frontiers in Dental Public Health: Toward the 21st Century." One hundred ninety-six persons registered for the meeting.

Robert J. (Skip) Collins, DMD, MPH, deputy executive director of the International and American Associations for Dental Research, and president of the AAPHD, presided over the opening session. J. Michael Allen, DDS, MPH, local arrangements chairperson, welcomed attendees to Orlando. AAPHD officers, Executive Council members, and special guests were recognized.

The meeting was dedicated to the memory of Dennis H. Leverett, DDS, MPH, 1996 association president, who passed away this past summer. Dr. Leverett was the first AAPHD president to die in office. Dr. Leverett's accomplishments and dedication to public health dentistry and to the association were acknowledged by remarks from Drs. Myron Allukian, Alice Horowitz, Ronald Billings, and Robert Collins. A video produced by Tim Leverett, Dennis' son, was shown. Dr. Collins presented the Outgoing President's Plaque to Mrs. Joyce Leverett, along with a financial contribution to the Mesilla Valley Hospice, Inc., 299 East Montana, Las Cruces, NM, 88005, in Dennis' memory.

Three former association presidents who also died during the past year were remembered during the opening ceremonies: Dr. Charles J. Gillooly, president in 1965; Dr. William P. Kroschel, president in 1961; and Dr. William A. Jordan, president in 1951.

Seventy-two scientific papers were presented in five oral sessions and one poster session. Presenters represented the United States, Canada, Japan, and Korea. Topic areas included: preventive dentistry, fluorides, sealants, fluoridation, attitudes of dental care practitioners, education, dental care delivery, HIV, oral facial trauma, medically compromised patients, tobacco use, oral health status, and epidemiology, among others.

Four symposia were held during the annual meeting. The keynote symposium was entitled "Managed dental care: a public health issue" and was moderated by RADM Steve Corbin. Dr. Aidee Nieto-Herman moderated a symposium entitled "Periodontology from the epidemiologic point of view," which was held jointly with the Hispanic Dental Association. The annual Health Resources and Services Administration Symposium was entitled "Lessons learned in managed care: challenges for the future," moderated by Dr. Alex White. The American Board of Dental Public Health symposium was moderated by Dr. Dushanka Kleinman and was entitled "Access to dental care: is it still a public health issue?"

Dr. Betty DeBerry-Sumner coordinated a workshop entitled "Preparing a dental health professions shortage area designation." This workshop was supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration.

Dr. Maria Rosa Watson moderated a session entitled "An oral health promotion program with a Hispanic community: description and baseline data." The session included three other speakers.

Dr. Howard Field presented Undergraduate and Graduate Student Merit Awards to six individuals at an awards luncheon.

Dr. Rhys Jones, immediate pastpresident, AAPHD, presented awards to three individuals during an awards luncheon. John C. Greene, DMD, MPH, professor and dean emeritus, University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry, received the 1996 Distinguished Service Award. Hermine McLeran, RDH, MPH, associate professor, Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry, and director, Aging Studies Program, University of Iowa College of Dentistry, received the 1996 Special Merit Award. Jackie Speier, member of the Assembly of California, received the 1996 Public Service Award. Dr. Jones also presented a plaque to the Division of Dental Health, Virginia State Health Department, commemorating 75 years of service. This division is the second oldest state dental program in the United States. Dr. Joseph Doherty presented the President's Award to Dr. Robert Collins. Dr. Leverett had requested that this award be presented on his behalf to Dr. Collins for his significant contributions to the welfare of the association.

The Town Hall business meeting was held on September 26. Minutes of that meeting are reported elsewhere in the *IPHD*.

John Clarkson, BDS, PhD, executive director, International and American Associations for Dental Research, installed the 1996-97 officers. Dr. Rhys Jones will continue in the office of immediate past-president. Dr. Robert Collins will continue in the office of president. Dr. Alex White became president-elect. Dr. Dushanka Kleinman was elected vice-president and will be program chair for the 1997 annual meeting. Candace Schlife-Jones, RDH, MPH, and Scott Tomar, DMD, DrPH, were elected to Executive Council membership. Drs. Isabel Garcia and Mary Tavares ended their terms on the Executive Council and were recognized with plaques for their service.

A joint Presidents' Reception was held in honor of Dr. Collins, president of the association, and Ann Batrell Stilwell, RDH, president of the American Dental Hygienists' Association. With the cosponsorship of the ADHA, this

reception also honored all dental public health hygienists who through their efforts improve the oral health of the people of the United States.

A luau was sponsored at the hotel by the AAPHD, the ADHA, the HDA, and the Public Health Section of the FDI World Dental Federation.

The AAPHD Executive Council met on September 24 and 28 in Orlando. Public health dentists from the US Armed Forces met on September 24. The theme for their meeting was "Military manpower modeling." The American Board of Dental Public Health held a dinner meeting on September 26. On September 27, AAPHD officers met with ADHA officers to discuss mutual areas of interest for the two organizations.

The Procter & Gamble Company, Colgate-Palmolive Company, John O.

Butler Company, and the Health Resources and Services Administration provided generous support for the meeting.

Aseptico; Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures; DNTLworks Equipment Corporation; Dentsply International; Colgate Pharmaceuticals; and Medical Products, Inc., supported the meeting with exhibits.

FUTURE AAPHD ANNUAL MEETING DATES