# **Archives**

## Joseph M. Doherty, DDS, MPH

### **Appointments**

Jay Gershen, DDS, PhD, has been appointed executive vice chancellor of the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, effective October 1, 1997. The Health Sciences Center is one of four campuses in the University of Colorado system, and includes the school of medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, a graduate school, and two hospitals. Before joining the University of Colorado, Dr. Gershen served as associate dean for policy and program development, professor and chair in the Section of Public Health Dentistry, and as acting dean of the School of Dentistry at the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), where he retains his appointment as professor emeritus. Dr. Gershen received his DDS from the University of Maryland in 1972, and after a one-year general dentistry internship at the Eastman Dental Center in Rochester, NY, he completed both a clinical specialty in pediatric dentistry and a PhD in education from UCLA in 1976. He has served as president of the American Association of Dental Schools and was responsible for initiating the major study of dental education conducted by the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. In 1982 he was awarded a Robert Wood

Johnson Health Policy Fellowship, where he worked on health policy issues and legislation in the Full Committee on Energy and Commerce in the US House of Representatives. Dr. Gershen has been a member of AAPHD since 1985.

Jed S. Hand, DDS, MHSA, has been named executive associate dean of the University of Iowa School of Dentistry. Previous to that he served as professor and head of the school's Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry. Dr. Hand received both his dental and master's degrees from the University of Michigan and is a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Public Health. In addition to private practice, Dr. Hand served as associate director for the New York State Health Department Office of Health Systems Management. Dr. Hand is active in many national organizations and is now serving on the ADA's Council on Scientific Affairs. He has been a member of AAPHD since 1979 and presently serves on the Executive Council and chairs its Policy Committee.

Teresa A. Dolan, DDS, MPH, was recently appointed associate dean for academic affairs at the University of

Florida, School of Dentistry. She also directs the predoctoral curriculum in geriatric dentistry at the school. Dr. Dolan received her DDS degree from the University of Texas in 1983 and her MPH in 1987 from the University of California at Los Angeles. She completed residencies in both general practice and public health, as well as a geriatric dentistry fellowship with the Veterans Administration. She is a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Public Health. Dr. Dolan is active in many state and national dental organizations and has served as president of the Geriatric Oral Research Section of the International Association of Dental Research and as chair of the Special Interest Group in Geriatric Dentistry of the American Association of Dental Schools. Dr. Dolan has been a member of AAPHD since 1987 and presently serves as a member of its Executive Council and as chair of the Residency Workshop Project.

Carolyn F. Gray, BS, MS, has been appointed deputy executive director of the American Association of Dental Schools. Ms. Gray received her dental hygiene education at Temple University, and received baccalaureate and graduate degrees with honors from Columbia University. She holds a cer-



Jed S. Hand



Teresa A. Dolan



Carolyn F. Gray

tificate in government relations from George Washington University. She has served with the AADS for 15 years as staff and more recently as assistant executive director. Prior to that Ms. Gray held faculty appointments in the Departments of Community Dentistry at Fairleigh Dickinson University and Virginia Commonwealth University. She has been a member of AAPHD since 1985.

#### **Awards**

Robert E. Mecklenburg, DDS, MPH, received the Choice Award of the Council of Access and Community Affairs, Fluoridation and Preventive Health Activities and Institutional and Interprofessional Affairs of the American Dental Association. The award was presented at the Special Recognition Luncheon of the 1997 annual session of the American Dental Association. This award, given to individuals or groups that have contributed to the council's mission, was presented to Dr. Mecklenburg for his exemplary leadership in education and prevention in the battle against tobacco use. Dr. Mecklenburg has presented over 100 seminars and numerous lectures since 1990 on smoking cessation. Dr. Mecklenburg received his DDS from the University of Minnesota in 1957 and his MPH from the University of California at Berkeley in 1963, and is a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Public Health. He served as chief of the Dental Services Branch of the Indian Health Service from 1971-85 and as chief dental officer, US Public Health Service, from 1981-87. He has received numerous awards, including the Distinguished Service Award of both the American Association of Public Health Dentistry and the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. He also received the first Presidential Award from AAPHD



Robert E. Mecklenburg

in 1987. Dr. Mecklenburg has been a member of AAPHD since the early 1960s and is presently a member of its Ethics Committee. He was president of the association in 1976.

### **Fellowships**

Three of the 31 persons selected for the Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Fellowship were dentists and members of AAPHD. The fellowship consists of a three-week intensive curriculum in Washington, DC, in the development of primary care policy, programs, and legislation. They are:

Jane A. Weintraub, DDS, MPH, is a 1998 recipient of the Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Fellowship. She was nominated by the American Association of Public Health Dentistry. Dr. Weintraub is presently the Lee Hysan Professor of Oral Epidemiology and Dental Public Health and co-chair, Department of Dental Public Health and Hygiene, University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry. Dr. Weintraub also has held faculty positions at

the University of North Carolina, the University of Michigan, and the Harvard School of Dental Medicine. She has served on the AAPHD's Executive Council and, recently, as the association's project director to revise the competency statements and performance indicators that guide the curriculum and standards for graduate training programs in dental public health. She has been a member of AAPHD since 1980.

Lynn Douglas Mouden, DDS, MPH, is a 1998 recipient of the Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Fellowship. He was nominated by the American Dental Association. Dr. Mouden is presently associate chief of the Bureau of Dental Health in the Missouri Department of Health and is an associate clinical professor at the University of Missouri at Kansas City School of Dentistry. On the national level he serves as vice-chair of the ADA's Council on Access, Prevention, and Interprofessional Relations and as chair of the Fluoridation Advisory Committee. Dr. Mouden was named as the "Dentist of the Year" by the Missouri Dental Association. He has been a member of AAPHD since 1991.

Betty DeBerry-Sumner, DDS, MPH, is a 1998 recipient of the Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Fellowship. She was nominated by Donald Weaver, MD, assistant surgeon general and director, Division of National Health Service Corps. Dr. DeBerry-Sumner is currently chief, Site Development and Placement Branch, NHSC, and chief dental officer, Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health Resources and Services Administration. Prior to her present position, she served with the Indian Health Service and the Bureau of Prisons. She has been a member of AAPHD since 1986.

# FUTURE AAPHD ANNUAL MEETING DATES