Annual Business Meeting Minutes

October 16, 1997 Washington, DC

President Skip Collins called to order the annual assembly meeting of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry at 4:30 PM on Thursday, October 16, 1997, in Washington, DC. Ninety-three people attended this general membership meeting. The agenda included updates on major issues affecting the membership and pertinent action items.

Vice-President's Report—Dushanka Kleinman announced that 217 registered for the annual meeting. She thanked Denise Fedele for her efforts with local arrangements.

Secretary-Treasurer's Report—Ray Kuthy announced that last year's annual meeting showed a profit of \$10,488. He told the assembly that expenditures exceeded anticipated income for fiscal year 1996–97 by \$21,595. He then outlined the proposed balanced budget (\$138,455) for fiscal year 1997–98. There was a motion by Dean Perkins, and seconded by Jane Weintraub, to accept the balanced budget for next year. The motion passed unanimously.

Policy Committee—Jed Hand presented two proposed policy issues that were published in the August issue of Communique. The Executive Council reviewed the statements and made minor modifications. First, there was a policy statement on "tobacco cessation, prevention, and control relative to cigars." There was a motion by Larry Hill, seconded by Candace Jones, to accept this as interim policy. The motion passed.

There was a motion by Dean Perkins, and seconded by Jane Wein-

traub, to accept the proposed policy statement on diversity. After some modifications to the language, the motion passed. Both statements will be published in the *JPHD*.

Competencies—Jane Weintraub updated the assembly about the process of establishing competencies for dental public health, the only specialty with competencies in addition to graduate program standards. A workshop was held in May to review the 165 knowledge-based objectives via a contract with the Health Resources and Services Administration. Ten competency statements were developed. The Executive Council has approved the newly established competencies.

Dental Public Health Standards— Linda Niessen highlighted the steps in the process of revising programmatic standards for the Commission on Dental Accreditation. These standards will be explicit and programs will be held accountable for compliance. The proposed standards will be circulated to parties of interest for their comments.

American Board of Dental Public Health—The board has established a time-limited certificate for all diplomates taking the certifying examination after January 1, 2000. Also, there will be a voluntary recertification process (primarily via continuing education) for those diplomates who were certified before this date.

Ethics—Under the direction of Kathy Atchison, this committee developed a proposed code of ethics for dental public health. Robert Mecklenburg was the appointee for the American Board of Dental Public Health. The

proposed policy has been on the AAPHD HomePage. There was a motion by Caswell Evans, and seconded by Robert Mecklenburg, to accept the proposed document as interim policy of AAPHD. The motion passed. The interim policy will be published in the *IPHD*.

National Office—Alex White summarized the selection process for administration of the National Office. Jim Toothaker and Jill Mason have agreed to accept this position. There was a motion by Judy Jones, and seconded by Rhys Jones, for AAPHD to enter into a contractual agreement with Jim Toothaker and Jill Mason to administer the National Office. The motion passed. The transition will probably occur during the summer.

Awards and Nomination Committee—Rhys Jones announced that the Executive Council approved an International Merit Award for outstanding achievement in community dentistry. Also, the graduate student award is now named the Leverett Graduate Student Award.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention—Stuart Lockwood informed the Assembly about the job opportunity to direct the Division of Oral Health.

The meeting adjourned at 5:35 PM.

(The installation of new officers occurred October 17, 1997, with Rhys Jones, immediate past president, conducting the ceremony. Skip Collins presented Raymond Kuthy, Kimberly McFarland, and Jane Weintraub with plaques for their service on the Executive Council).