Promoting the Oral Health of the Public: Celebrating 60 Years

October 15–17, 1997 Washington Hilton Hotel Washington, DC

The 60th anniversary of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry (AAPHD) was celebrated in Washington, DC, on October 15-17, 1997, by 217 meeting participants. "Promoting the Oral Health of the Public," the theme, was highlighted in three full days that included four symposia, 72 contributed papers, 15 round-table discussions, two keynote speakers, and one workshop. Business was accomplished at committee meetings and the annual Residency Directors' meeting; networking and socializing were achieved at the two receptions; and exercise and sightseeing were combined as the annual fun-run participants ran down by the Potomac River to the Lincoln Memorial.

The centerpiece of the meeting, as always, was our recognition events, beginning with a luncheon honoring Helen and Joe Doherty and their receipt of the Distinguished Service Award for their very special dedication and tremendous support in managing the National Office and serving as mentors for all of us. The Awards Luncheon allowed us to recognize Dr. Donald Marianos, our Special Merit Award recipient; Honorable Steny H. Hoyer, the recipient of the Public Health Service Award; and our seven student merit awardees: Monica A. Fisher, Sharon Gordon, Maria Teresa Canto, Lindsey Marshall, Brad Guyton, William P. Magee, and Daniel I. Taub. Drs. Rhys Jones, Myron Allukian, and Howard Field aptly organized these events.

President Robert J. (Skip) Collins initiated the meeting by welcoming guests from other organizations, new and international members, and recognizing the past presidents of the association. Chief Dental Officer William Maas welcomed us to the capitol city. Special recognition was given to Gabriele Glang, who has served as publisher of our journal, and to the National Institute of Dental Research on behalf of the organization's 60th anniversary. Dr. Harold Slavkin, NIDR's director, who gave an exciting overview of the challenges and opportunities for the coming century and millennium, received the latter award. In his address, President Collins reviewed the major highlights of the past year, emphasizing the transition of the National Office, the acquisition of 501(c)(3) status for the association, the development of new competencies for the specialty of dental public health, and the receipt of two Health Resources and Services Administration grants by AAPHD to hold meetings of the residency directors in the coming year.

The four symposia allowed participants to receive updates and hear perspectives related to an emerging technology, atraumatic restorative treatment; health promotion strategies aimed at preventing oral cancer, a disease that kills a person every hour; programs that benefit from using nontraditional partners to enhance oral health; and an American Board of Dental Public Health symposium focused upon current and future challenges facing the profession and specialty of dental public health. The symposia were cosponsored by the American Dental Hygienists' Association, Health Resources and Services Administration, and Oral Health America, America's Fund for Dental Health. Drs. Isabel Garcia, Alice M. Horowitz, Jack Dillenberg, Joseph Alderman, and Eric Bothwell are to be commended for their role in organizing these stimulating sessions. For the second year in a row, Dr. Betty De-Berry-Sumner offered a comprehensive workshop on preparing a dental health professions shortage area designation.

Fifteen topics were covered during a series of lively box-lunch round-table discussions. The topics covered risk factors such as tobacco; national initiatives such as Healthy People 2010, oral cancer strategic plan, and health personnel projections for the 21st century; perspectives from state, local, federal (FDA), and international programs; managed care, KIDCARE, and Medicaid; and the status of the NHANES IV. In addition, there was a discussion of current policy and directions of the JPHD, new competency objectives for dental public health, and an overview of how new members can get involved. Special thanks go to our round-table chairs and discussants: Alex White, Don Schneider, Dean Perkins, Larry Hill, Gail Cherry-Peppers, Kevin Hardwick, Robert Mecklenburg, Stuart Lockwood, Jane Weintraub, Candace Jones, Sandy Shire, Skip Collins, Janet Brunelle, Dolores Malvitz, Alice Horowitz, and Gary Rozier.

Dr. Caswell Evans, executive editor for the recently commissioned Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health, gave a thorough overview of the charge and the approach to be used to prepare this report. Dr. Evans' presentation was cosponsored by the Hispanic Dental Association.

Thanks and praise go to all who participated in making this annual meeting lively and stimulating. Putting a program together definitely is a team effort. Helen and Joe Doherty provided critical guidance, comprehensive conference management, design and preparation of the program book, and so much more. Denise Fedele aptly led the local arrangements efforts, creating and perpetuating an environment for all of us to learn and enjoy each other and Washington, DC. Rebecca King solicited and obtained our sponsors and exhibitors, whose support is greatly appreciated and vital to a successful meeting. Scott Tomar handled our CE status, ensuring that we received 17 contact hours for attending all sessions. Abstract and award submission reviews

were efficiently organized by Howard Field and included Victor Badner, Denise Fedele, Scott Tomar, Terri Dolan, Caswell Evans, Catherine Hayes, Bill Maurer, Pat Main, Joe Doherty, and Mike McCunniff as reviewers. The American Dental Hygienists' Association cosponsored the initial reception held on Wednesday evening, allowing us to celebrate our mutual members, dental public health hygienists. The meeting's activities were enjoyed from morning until night, and ended with a dinner and dancing cruise on a rainy evening down the Potomac River on a boat called "The Spirit of Washington."