President's Award: Dr. Jane Weintraub, DDS, MPH

Presented by B. Alex White, DDS, DrPH

The President's Award is presented at the discretion of the president to an individual for significant contributions to the welfare of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry. We are fortunate to have so many individuals who are willing to support the association with time, energy, and money. However, there is one person who has consistently given time and energy above and beyond the call of duty.

It is a real pleasure for me to present the President's Award to Dr. Jane Weintraub. Dr. Weintraub is currently the Lee Hysan Professor at the University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry. She has served on the AAPHD Executive Council and has chaired the American Dental Association's Advisory Committee for Ad-



President White and Jane Weintraub

vanced Education Programs in Dental Public Health. Over the last couple of years, she served as director for a project funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration and the AAPHD to revise the competency statements and performance indicators that guide the curricula and standards for graduate training programs in dental public health. She was nominated by the AAPHD and was selected to be a 1998 Primary Care Policy Fellow, and represented our association and oral health well.

Jane is a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Public Health. She has declined invitations to be nominated to serve as a board member because she doesn't want to stop her board preparation course. Now that's dedication!

Jane, thanks for all the work that you do. On behalf of the association, I am pleased to recognize you today with the AAPHD President's Award.

1998 Public Service Award: Senator Edward M. Kennedy

Presented by Robert J. (Skip) Collins, DDS, MPH

The AAPHD Public Service Award is presented to an individual for substantial contributions through action related to public health dentistry issues. In past years, AAPHD has recognized a president of the United States, federal and state legislators, a surgeon general, a governor, and professional association activists. This year we are honoring Senator Edward M. Kennedy for his many years of consistent and vigorous support for dental public health and broad public health programming of which dental public health is a part.

Senator Kennedy has been a consistent supporter of oral health issues since 1968 when he ensured that the dental needs of patients served by Bunker Hill Community Health Center were publicized and addressed. More recently, he has included oral health in the Kennedy Health Care Reform Bill, encouraged Secretary Sha-



Senator Kennedy accepts award from (left to right) Caswell Evans, Skip Collins, Myron Allukian, Jr., and Vincent Edwards. [PHOTO BY ROBERT KNUDSEN]