Minutes of the 51st Annual Meeting of Diplomates

April 30, 2001 Marriott Hotel Downtown Portland, Oregon

I. Call to Order

President Dumbaugh called the 51st meeting of diplomates to order and welcomed the 58 members and guests present.

- A. There were eight past presidents in attendance who were introduced and recognized by Dr. Dumbaugh: Dr. E. Joseph Alderman, Dr. Myron Allukian, Dr. Joseph Doherty, Dr. Dushanka Kleinman, Dr. Jay Kumar, Dr. Stan Lotzkar, Dr. Linda Niessen, and Dr. R. Gary Rozier.
- B. Dr. Dumbaugh introduced the following diplomates who were certified in 2000 with a short biography and presented them with their board lapel pins: Dr. Jeffrey Chaffin, Dr. Michael Mahshigian, Dr. H. Whitney Payne, Dr. James Sutherland, and Dr. Jeanine Tucker. Dr. Philippe Bilger, Dr. Edward Peters, and Dr. Maria Rosa Watson, who were also certified in 2000, were not present.
- C. Dr. Dumbaugh called a moment of silence for two diplomates who had passed away during the past year: Dr. Robert Downs and Dr. Vernon Forney.
- D. The minutes of the 2000 meeting of the diplomates, which were published in the winter issue of the *Journal of Public Dentistry*, were approved.

II. Report of the Executive Secretary

As of April 27, 2001, there were 140 certified active diplomates, 28 life members, and 26 inactive (retired), for a total of 194. This represents a net gain of 6 active diplomates. We have added 8 new diplomates, but have lost two. Both Joe Abramowitz and Gary Leske became inactive this year.

We have 9 candidates taking the board examination this year and a total of 27 board-eligible dentists, having lost 3 whose eligibility ran out after 5 years without taking the examination. Next year we will have 2 dentists who will lose their eligibility if they do not take the 2002 board examination.

III. Report of Officers and Members

A. Dr. Lotzkar gave the Treasurer's Report. This year we are back on a full fiscal year schedule instead of

the 7-month period of last year. The short fiscal year was necessitated by the changeover from a fall meeting to a spring meeting. Assuming a continuation of the present Oral Health Conference format, subsequent years will take in a full 12-month period.

Although it is difficult to compare last year's report with this one, there are differences that are significant regardless of the time period. For example, in the income category there was a 12-fold increase in application fees from \$200.00 to \$2,400.00. Similarly, examination fees doubled from \$1,400.00 to \$2,850.00. There were 12 new applications compared to one new application in FY 2000. Reregistration fees went from about \$12,000.00 to \$14,500.00.

On the expenditures side, travel and per diem expenses for board directors and staff, which were over \$9,000.00 for the Honolulu meeting, were re-

ABDPH DIPLOMATES

Dr. Brian Burt, president of the American Board of Dental Public Health, announced that the following dentists have passed the board certification examination given in April 2001 and are now diplomates of the board: Dr. Olusegun K. Alonge, Dr. Irene G. Bober-Moken, Dr. David P. Cappelli, Dr. Irene V. Hilton, Dr. Judith A. Jones, and Dr. Stephen T. Schultz. Dr. Burt also announced that the board examination will be given on April 26-28, 2002, in Danvers, MA, at the Sheraton Ferncroft Resort. Application forms and/or information concerning the requirements for board certification may be obtained by writing to Dr. Stanley Lotzkar, 1321 NW 47th Terrace, Gainesville, FL 32605, by telephone (352) 378-6301, or by e-mail at stanl@atlantic.net. Applications will be accepted at any time, but must be received by September 15th of the year before you wish to take the examination. Once declared board eligible, the examination must be taken and passed within a five-year period.

duced to about \$5200.00 for the Oak Brook meeting. There were no symposium expenses this year. Total expenditures were about \$5,000.00 less this year, despite a longer time period. In view of the favorable budget position at this time, the board agreed to forego the \$2000.00 AAPHD supplement for 2001. However, if our position should change in the future, the board wishes to reserve the right to ask for financial assistance once more. The AAPHD has been very helpful in alleviating some of our concerns with cash flow in the past and we wish to express our appreciation.

B. President's Report

Dr. Dumbaugh introduced the new officers and directors of the board. They are Brian Burt, president; Caswell Evans, vice president-auditor; Ray Kuthy, treasurer; Skip Collins, director; Terri Dolan, director; the new director-elect is Alex White.

Dr. Dumbaugh announced that he had just received word that Bob Mecklenburg is receiving the OHA award for his work with spit tobacco and sharing the award with Doug Harvey.

Jane Weintraub may offer the board preparation course again next year. If not, Chet Douglass will supervise it.

Joe Doherty proposed a toast to Bill Maas, whose four-year term as chief dental officer was ending on this date.

Dr. Dumbaugh introduced Jay Kumar, who has agreed to continue to handle the Continuing Education reporting for another year. Dr. Kumar spoke briefly about the voluntary reporting of Continuing Education activities for diplomates who had been certified before 2000. Although new diplomates are required to send in annual reports, the response rate from voluntary submissions has been low. Several suggestions were made, including one where CE credits could be reported from the sponsors of the oral health conference now going on and other meetings, as well. In the meantime Dr. Kumar requested that the board try to come up with a solution.

Dr. Dumbaugh expressed his appreciation for the opportunity to serve on the board for the past six and one-half years. It has given him the opportunity to work with some of the best. He served under Presidents Gary Rozier, Joe Alderman, Linda Niessen, Steve Corbin, and Jay Kumar. And this year with Brian Burt, Cas Evans, Ray Kuthy, Skip Collins, and Terri Dolan.

C. Dr. Dumbaugh turned the chair over to incoming President Brian Burt, who delivered some short remarks and presented Dr. Dumbaugh with the President's Plaque. The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 PM.