## Remarks upon Receiving the 2002 Special Merit Award for Outstanding Achievement in Community Dentistry— International

## Patricia Main, DDS, DDPH, MSc

Thank you so much for honoring me and, through me, honoring the other international members and oral and dental public health practitioners outside of the USA.

It has been a delightful and rewarding relationship with AAPHD. You get so much more out of any organization when you participate. I would like to encourage all of you here to get actively involved with AAPHD and the oral and dental public health organizations in your own country. When we all work together the load is lighter, more gets accomplished, ideas are germinated and find implementation more easily, and we renew our commitment to public health dentistry.

I would particularly like to thank those people in AAPHD who made me very welcome and encouraged me to participate, specifically Helen and Joe Doherty, Kim McFarland, and Dushanka Kleinman. I would also like to thank you, Rebecca, for your kind words about my accomplishments. I have been very lucky to be able to pursue all my interests in service provision, teaching, and research over the last 25 years. I have been able to work alongside experts in the field to develop what I consider the best dental public health program in Canada, and through my association with the University of Toronto, we have been able to spearhead the introduction of evidence-based dental care in Canada. It has been a most rewarding career, and now that I am retired I can continue with these areas that are so rewarding and leave behind the humdrum daily grind.

Thank you again for recognizing me with this special award.

## Journal of Public Health Dentistry Best Paper Award 2002 Recipient: Susan O. Griffin, PhD

This purpose of this award is to recognize original research papers that are innovative, have the potential to impact dental public health, are rigorous and creative in their methodology, and serve as exemplary manuscripts because of their superb structure, style, and writing. The award is presented to the primary author of the paper. Winning paper: Griffin SO, Jones K, Tomar SL. An economic evaluation of community water fluoridation. J Public Health Dent 2001;61(2):78-86.