AAPHD Town Hall Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, April 27–29, 2003 Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

The meeting was called to order by President William Bill Maas, DDS, MPH. President Maas indicated that the most of the agenda items would be brief reports so that those present could contribute to the main purpose of this year's meeting, which was the request from the Executive Council members for "a clear vision from the membership on the actions to be taken by the association in the near future." The AAPHD Executive Council has reviewed the AAPHD Strategic Plan and a draft had been shared with all members through the Web site and copies were available at the meeting. After the reports, those present would be asked to break into strategic planning goal committees to provide input into the plan.

Two items were added to the agenda: the Executive Director Report and a Proposed Resolution regarding the "Call to Action."

The following are highlights from the officer and committee reports.

- A. President-elect Report—Candace Jones, BS, MPH
 - A new national Oral Health Conference (NOHC) record set with 565 attendees registered for the meeting; 20 new AAPHD members recruited and the keynote presentation by the Surgeon General.
 - Suggestions from the membership for 2004 NOHC included:
 - Using the abstracts as topics for roundtable sessions.
 Offering CEs for roundtable and poster presentations.
 - —Having more time for discussion after each presentation and more time for sessions in general.
- B. Vice President Report—Jane Weintraub, DDS, MPH
 - Dates for the 2004 NOHC are May 3–5, 2004, in Los Angeles, California.
- C. Secretary-Treasurer Report—Mark Greer, DMD, MPH
 - The 2002–2003 audit was completed and copies of the report are available.
 - The association moved from a cash system to an accrual system of accounting.
 - A graph was shared that compared how the organization's budget revenue, expenses, and dues have grown since 1985.
 - A year-to-date financial report compared to budget was shared with the membership.
- D. Executive Director's Report—Pamela Tolson, CAE

- Activities have focused around reorganization of committees and setting their agendas; setting up new systems for accounting, membership, and donor base management; policy development for financial management and communications.
- Development of online membership directory, broadcast e-mail program, and online registration for NOHC
- Pleased with the strategic planning session that will help the organization focus activities on goals.
- E. Membership Report—Kathy Mangskau, RDH, MPH
 - Motion made and seconded to approve proposed dues increase. Discussion revolved around raising dues, even more as no dues increase has occurred since 1985. The motion was amended to decrease the proposed increase in student dues from \$50 to \$40. The motion was approved and the dues increases will go into effect October 1, 2003.

Regular Members—\$100 Contributing Members—\$125 Sustaining Members—\$150 Sponsoring Members—\$200 Associate Members—\$80 Affiliate Members—\$100 Corporate Members—\$100 Student Members—\$40

 A motion was also made to change the Bylaws to read:

Chapter II Membership: Section 2 Qualifications C. Student Membership

Students enrolled at a minimum of ½ time in an accredited school of dentistry, dental hygiene, public health, or other such accredited educational institution and which is acceptable to a majority of the Membership Committee.

- F. Oral Health and Policy—Stuart Lockwood, DMD, MPH
 - The committee reviewed the ADA Resolutions prior to meeting in New Orleans and provided comment onsite. The Executive Council was pleased with the results and intends to do the same for the ADA Meeting in San Francisco.
- G. Education and Science Committee—Kathy Phipps, DrPH, MPH
 - Over 70 contributed papers were reviewed for the

NOHC. Next year's process will allow for online submission and there will be a request for learning objectives to meet CERP guidelines.

- H. Foundation Committee—Joseph Doherty, DDS, MPH
 - Pledge total now exceeds \$100,000; to date over \$50,000 in cash have been received.
 - Special fund being established to recognize Dr. Stan Lotzkar.
- I. Ad Hoc Diversity Policy Committee—William Maas, DDS, MPH
 - The committee, co-chaired by Gustavo Cruz and Maria Rosa Watson, has submitted a recommended policy to the Executive Council. The council has adopted the policy temporarily until final approval can be voted upon by the membership at next year's Town Hall meeting. A copy of the report will be in the newsletter.
- J. Ad Hoc Legislative Committee—Myron Allukian, DDS, MPH
 - Followed up on the Public Health Dentist Loan Repayment and Dental Public Health Residencies.
 - Asked members to write letters of support for the Health Care safety Safety Net Amendment Section 340-G appropriations bill.

Lynn Mouden, president of ASTDD, presented a joint resolution of ASTDD and AAPHD to support the "Call to Action." It was moved and seconded to accept the resolution. Motion carried.

The 2003-04 Executive Council was sworn in and the new

officers are: President Candace Jones; President-elect Jane Weintraub; Vice President Bob Weyant; Secretary/Treasurer Mark Greer, and Immediate Past President Bill Mass. The 2003–04 Executive Council members are Mary Foley, Linda Kaste, Ron Romero (one-year term), Francisco Ramos-Gomez, Jim Sutherland, and Marilyn Woolfolk. The 2002–03 Executive Council members including Kathy Phipps, Kathy Mangskau, Stuart Lockwood, and Kim McFarland were recognized with a plaque and thanked for their years of service.

For the remainder of the meeting, members broke into five groups to provide input and guidance to the five strategic planning goal committees. The committee chairs reported back briefly to the group as a whole on their discussion. The chairs will now review the input and develop action plans for the committees to discuss during the summer. Each committee was directed to provide an action plan for approval by the Executive Council in October. Committees will meet by conference calls and all members are invited to participate. Members may contact the goal committee chairs directly or contact the National Office to be placed on a goal committee. Reports will be posted throughout the summer on the AAPHD Web site for the membership to review.

The Strategic Planning Goal Committees and Chairs are:

- Legislative Policy Goal Committee—Larry Hill and Kathryn Atchison, co-chairs
- Budget/Finance Goal Committee—Mark Greer and Reg Louie, co-chairs
- Surgeon General Report Goal Committee—Mark Siegal and Bob Isman, co-chairs
- Workforce Goal Committee—Linda Kaste and Steve Geiermann, co-chairs
- Membership Goal Committee—Jim Sutherland and Mary Foley, co-chairs

The meeting was adjourned by President Candace Jones.