ASTDD Annual Business Meeting Minutes

April 26, 2003 Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Dr. Lynn Mouden, president, presided over the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD) Annual Business Meeting on April 26th in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Members from 30 states and 9 associate members attended the meeting. New members at the meeting included Dr. Nicholas Mosca (dental director in Mississippi), Maija Beyer (dental director in North Dakota), Tom Lockhart (Oral Health Program contact in Washington State), and Christine Farrell (associate member and dental contact person for Michigan).

The treasurer's report noted that ASTDD is doing fine financially and has shown a net gain in income the past two years. It was acknowledged that the partnership with AAPHD in joint sponsorship of the National Oral Health Conference (NOHC) has worked well.

The Nominations Committee submitted nominations for ASTDD Executive Committee positions. The slate of officers was approved by acclamation and the following officers were installed: Dr. Lew Lampiris, president-elect (Illinois); Dr. Steven Steed, treasurer (Utah); Dr. Raymond Lala, director (South Carolina); and Dr. Stuart Lockwood, director (Alabama).

The business meeting included a discussion on the need for the organization to update and/or initiate resolutions and policy statements in a number of dental public health focus areas. ASTDD will be working to develop resolutions on P.A.N.D.A., HeadStart oral health issues, dental sealants, fluoride varnish, and oral health in nursing home settings for next year's business meeting. Meeting participants also discussed the need to come up with a resolution on use/ safety of dental amalgam. The process will include a review of AAPHD and other organization resolutions/position papers on oral health topics.

Dr. Dean Perkins, former dental director in Missouri and past-president of ASTDD, has contracted with ASTDD to provide executive director and business office support up to 24 hours per week. Along with ASTDD business functions, Dean responds to ASTDD e-mail and phone contacts.

Bev Isman, ASTDD consultant, reported on projects funded under the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) cooperative agreements. Bev highlighted the following projects:

- ASTDD Best Practices Project and noted the information as being presented by Dr. Julie Tang at the ASTDD Breakfast and during the NOHC:
- ASTDD Leadership Project being presented/discussed at the ASTDD Breakfast (Dr. Don Marianos, project consultant);
- The "Safety Net Dental Clinic/ Mobile Manual" (to be posted on the MCH Oral Health Resource Center Web site in June) and "Portable Dental Equipment Manual" (available winter 2003); and
- Projects on regional and state "HeadStart Oral Health Summits," the roundtable discussions and presentation held during the 2003 NOHC, and recently released fact sheet on HeadStart and oral health and tip sheets for Head Start parents and health providers

ASTDD members voted to amend the association bylaws to:

- allow for electronic communication to support meetings, business functions, and decisions related to the Executive Committee and other ASTDD business;
- reflect functions now covered by the executive director and ASTDD business office; and
- changes and clarifications related to the addition of associate members of the organization.

Members discussed the need for changes in the ASTDD Awards given current language that precludes associate members from receiving the Distinguished Service Award. Other changes to the awards were discussed; however, consensus was not reached at the business meeting and the issue was referred back to the Executive Committee for further discussion and clarifications.

The business meeting also included discussion on an "emergency resolution" reflecting an ASTDD position that dental public health and other dental organizations should not take money from companies that sell and/or promote foods harmful to the public's health. This item generated considerable discussion. Most in attendance felt the resolution was too vague and some felt in the current budget climate it is a different issue to accept money versus a process that actively promotes the product in question. Ultimately, the resolution was referred back to the Policy Committee.

Dr. William Maas, director of the Division of Oral Health (CDC), indicated he was please with the progress on the cooperative agreement. He noted:

- 8–10 states have some or all of the common indicators for the National Oral Health Surveillance System;
- the progress with ASTDD and AAPHD in their cooperative work on planning and development of the NOHC;
- the use of ASTDD's state oral health infrastructure and capacity assessment for incorporation into the CDC state oral health infrastructure grants; and
- the work on the ASTDD Best Practices Project.

Dr. Maas also noted the progress on state reporting to the Water Fluoridation Reporting System (WFRS). He indicated the need for more supporting research on social and political environmental factors surrounding community water fluoridation, understanding coalition development and activities, communications and how to work within small town political processes, and more prevention research. It was indicated that current projects



ASTDD Board Members (left to right): Dr. Steven Steed, Dr. Raymond Lala, Dr. Dean Perkins, Dr. Lewis Lampiris, Diane Brunson, Dr. Brad Whistler, Kneka Pelletier Smith, Dr. Lynn Mouden, and Dr. Stuart Lockwood.

in the cooperative agreement should continue in the next cooperative agreement, albeit with more emphasis on evaluation of these activities.

Dr. Mark Nehring, chief dental officer at HRSA, reported on an upcoming

opportunity for state oral health programs to apply for Oral Health Collaboration System Grants. The purpose of these grants is to follow up on state oral health strategic planning activities that have occurred over the

past few years. Grant awards are anticipated at \$50,000, although more funding may be available depending on the number of states and territories that apply.

The meeting adjourned at 3:35 pm.