## ASTDD/ADA/CDC Community Water Fluoridation Awards

## Presented by Judith A. Feinstein, MSPH

As Chair of ASTDD's Fluoride Committee, it is a pleasure and honor for me to present the 2004 Fluoridation Awards. Since 1989 the ADA, ASTDD and CDC have jointly recognized specific individuals, organizations and agencies for their contributions toward the progress and quality of community water fluoridation.

ASTDD, CDC and the ADA, together with their state and local components, actively work to promote fluoridation in communities throughout the United States. These annual Fluoridation Awards serve as a vehicle to recognize the unsung heroes who continue to initiate, maintain or improve the oral health benefits fluoridation provides for all citizens.

First, I would like to recognize the other members of the Fluoridation Awards committee. They are Rebecca King from North Carolina, Warren LeMay from Wisconsin, Michael Levy from Montreal, and Steve Geiermann from Chicago & HRSA Region 5, all representing ASTDD, Jane McGinley and Nicole Stoufflet from the ADA, and Kip Duchon and Scott Presson from the CDC.

This year we are pleased to present awards in six categories: Fifty Year Awards, State Fluoridation Initiative Awards, State Fluoridation Quality Awards, Community Initiative Awards, Community Reaffirmation Awards, and our special Fluoridation Merit Award.

This year, rather than presenting them here, certificates will be mailed later this month to state dental directors. What we want to do today is recognize the states on behalf of the various communities for these achievements.

The first recipients are in the Fifty Year Award category. Recognition is given to systems that reached 50 years of continuous water fluoridation during 2004. You can see by the number of communities – 90 if I've counted right, – that initiated fluoridation 50

years ago, that 1954 was a busy year.

The second category this year is the State Fluoridation Initiative Award. This award recognizes the state or states that had the most new systems fluoridating or that had the greatest increase in population on water fluoridation in the past calendar year.

The next category today is the one we introduced last year, Community Fluoridation Reaffirmation Awards. This new category recognizes communities that defeated initiatives to discontinue fluoridation, or that approved an initiative to maintain water fluoridation.

The next category today is the State Fluoridation Quality Awards. This recognition is given to states that maintain the quality of fluoridation as determined by the ability of fluoridating systems to conduct monitoring and maintain optimal fluoride levels.

The last category for states and communities is the Community Initiative Award. Recognition is given to communities or systems that passed water fluoridation initiatives or started a consecutive system during the past calendar year.

Our final award today is the Community Water Fluoridation Special Merit Award, which, by the way, is not necessarily presented every year. This award is presented to an individual, group, agency or organization that has made an outstanding contribution toward the progress of fluoridation. As you see from the insert in your program, the individual we're recognizing today is Jane McGinley. It gives me great pleasure to present this award to Jane today, and to read the text of our presentation to you all. Jane has stepped back this year from a more active role with the Fluorides Committee, passing the torch as it were, to Nicole Stoufflet, but as you see here, she has hardly left fluoridation behind.

"Jane McGinley is widely known nationally as a passionate advocate of community water fluoridation. She is currently the Manager of Fluoridation and Preventive Health Activities for the American Dental Association, having been a registered dental hygienist for 37 years - 15 years in private practice and 15 years in a long term care facility for people with developmental disabilities. In her role as an ADA Manager, she works closely with individual members, dental societies, states, federal agencies, and the public health community in securing and maintaining community water fluoridation. She continues to initiate and build strong relationships, both professionally and personally, with key oral health advocates on the local level as well as nationally. With her in-depth knowledge, she provides an unmatched level of fluoridation technical assistance, both in person, over the phone and via other modes of communications. Much of her energy recently has been spent orchestrating the celebration of the 60th anniversary of community water fluoridation. She has been the master planner behind the upcoming National Fluoridation Symposium in July of this year. Jane is the heart and soul behind the last two editions of ADA's premier resource booklet on fluoridation, "Fluoridation Facts." The Fluoridation Merit Award recognizes Jane McGinley's dedication, passion and tireless efforts as a true champion of community water fluoridation – and as a colleague, collaborator, and friend of public health."