## **AAPHD Annual Business Meeting Minutes**

## Tuesday, May 3, 2005, Omni Willian Penn Hotel, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

The 2005 AAPHD Annual Business Meeting was called to order by President Jane Weintraub. President-Elect Robert Weyant presented highlights of the National Oral Health Conference, the HRSA Residency Workshop and APHD's hosting of the ADA Dental Specialty Group meetings for 2005.

Secretary-Treasurer Mark Macek presented a financial report as of March 31, 2005. Handouts included 03-31-05 financial report and the 2004 audit. Report highlights included:

- The NOHC is on target to make its projected goal in attendance and fiscally.
- The Association is on target to meet its goal of a balanced budget for fiscal year 2004-2005; however, reserves may need to be used for strategic goal budgets.
- Association financial reserves and the Foundation funds are invested in a conservative portfolio and are meeting performance goals. The AAPHD officers meet two to four times per year with the association's investment advisor.
- An audit was performed for fiscal year 2003-2004 and is available for review.

Dr. Macek also reported on the goals and objectives of the Fund Development Strategic Goal Committee. The primary goal was to raise \$20,000 to cover the strategic goal committees' budget for year one of implementation. Actions taken to raise the \$20,000 include raising subscription fees for the *Journal of Public Health Dentistry*, establishing advertising policies and rates for both the *JPHD* and the *Communique*; and seeking additional sponsors for awards.

Executive Director Pam Tolson distributed a written report.

It was moved and seconded to approve the proposed bylaw changes that were distributed to the membership thirty days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. Motion carried.

The following is a summary of the changes:

- 1. To permit elections by e-mail. Previous 2002 bylaw changes permitted ballots to be electronically returned but unintentionally omitted electronic distribution. The change required is for Chapter IV (Officers) Section 4 (Elections) and Chapter V (Executive Council) section 4 (Elections).
- 2. To increase the number of Executive Council members from 6 to 9 members, to be phased in



AAPHD 2004 Executive Committee and staff. Row 1 - Robert Weyant, President Elect; Pam Tolson, Executive Director; Jane Weintraub, President. Row 2 - Mary Foley, Marilyn Woolfolk, Linda Lenzini, Barbara Gooch. Row 3 - Jim Sutherland, Mark Macek, Joe Alderman, Candace Jones, Linda Kaste.

starting with the 2006 election of 3 new members each year for 3-year terms. The change is required for Smapler V, Section 1 (Composition), Section 4 (Elections) and Section 6 (Term of Office).

- 3. To give all categories of membership voting privileges except for matters pertaining to the American Board of Dental Public Health, which will remain restricted to dentists board-certified in dental public health. Currently only "voting" "life" and representatives of "affiliate" members may vote. The change is required for Chapter II, Section 4 (Privileges).
- 4. To change the term "voting" membership to "primary" membership when referring to dental health professionals who meet the qualifications described. The change is required to Chapter II (Membership) Sections 1 (Classifications), 2 (Qualifications), 4 (Privileges).
- 5. To change who is eligible to serve as an officer or executive council member from a voting or life member in good standing to a primary, associate or life member in good standing. The change is to Chapter IV Section 2 (Eligibility) and Chapter V Section 2 (Eligibility).
- To provide life members with AAPHD's two official publications without paying for a subscription instead of paying ½ price of the current Journal Subscription. The change is to Chapter II (Membership), Section 4 (Privileges), D. (Life Members).

A summary of committee reports was distributed. The actions of the committees supported four broad goals:

- Improving organizational efficiency and moving the strategic plan forward;
- 2. Improving advocacy and partnerships;
- 3. Increasing member services that will assist the membership with their jobs; and
- Continuing participation with groups exploring workforce issues and serving as an agent for change.

Dr. Myron Allukian proposed a resolution supporting the Alaska Dental Health Aides and Therapists program to help meet the dental needs of the underserved Alaska native population. The members present voted to send the proposed resolution to the Public Policy and Advocacy Committee for review and recommendation to the Executive Council. The proposed resolution reads:

## **Proposed Resolution**

Whereas, the Alaska Native population has overwhelming unmet dental needs, and

Whereas, access to dental care for this population is in crisis and not readily available, and

Whereas, the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC) has initiated a responsible and practical approach to begin to address these unmet needs with the Dental health Aids and Therapists program, and

Whereas, these dental health aides and therapists receive the appropriate training, education, certification, professional supervision and evaluation to provide quality dental services to prevent unnecessary pain, infection, and suffering,

Therefore, the American Association of Public Health Dentistry strongly supports the innovative Alaska Dental Health Aides and Therapists program to help meet the dental needs of the underserved Alaska native population, and commit to working with the ANTHC to provide accurate information about the program to the public, profession, and policymakers.

Submitted by Dr. Myron Allukian, Jr. May 3, 2005

Other actions taken at the Annual Business Meeting were:

- Recognition of the Officers and Executive Council Members stepping down from the Executive Council. These individuals are: Candace Jones, BS, MPH; James Sutherland, DDS, MPH; and Marilyn Woolfolk, DDS, MPH.
- Installation of 2005-2006 Officers and Executive Council Members by Candace Jones, Immediate Past President. The new Officers are:

President – Robert Weyant, DMD, Dr PH
President-Elect – Kathryn Atchison, DDS, MPH
Vice President – Caswell Evans Jr., DDS, MPH
Secretary-Treasurer – Mark Macek, DDS, DrPH
Immediate Past President – Jane Weintraub, DDS, MPH

Council Members – Eugenio Beltran, DMD, MS, DrPH (new); Diane Brunson, RDH, MPH; Mary Foley, RDH, MPH; Barbara Gooch, DMD, MPH; Linda Kaste, DDS, PhD, MS; Ana Karina Mascarenhas, BDS, MPH (new).

- Recognition and thanks were extended Sena Narendran for chairing the Student Awards Program for several years. Unable to attend, he is being sent an OOHFA award.
- A suggestion was made to include sponsors and exhibitors on the planning committee for the National Oral Health Conference in 2006.
- An announcement was made that the AAPHD Executive Council will sign-on as a supporter of the Special Care Dentistry Legislation when introduced.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.