AAPHD Foundation Honors Horowitz Scholarship Winners at Special Event

The AAPHD Foundation hosted a celebration during the 2005 National Oral Health Conference at the Carnegie Museum in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Dessert Reception was held on Monday evening, May 2nd after attendees had the opportunity to tour the Museum. The event also served as a celebration for reaching several Foundation goals.

AAPHD Foundation Chair, Linda Niessen, announced that the Foundation had reached its first major funding goal of \$100,000. This was due to the many donors who have made contributions and pledges. To date, over 70% of the pledges made have been collected. The Foundation actually has three special funds and as of May, the Foundation had collected the following amounts:

Lotzkar Fund	\$ 4,450
Horowitz Scholarship Fund	\$ 35,206
General Fund	<u>\$ 89</u> ,337
Total Contributions	\$128,993

The event also served to introduce and honor Dr. Lisa Chung, the first recipient of the Herschel S. Horowitz Scholarship (2004). Dr. Chung will soon graduate from the University of California, Berkeley.

The final event of the evening was the announcement of the 2005 Herschel S. Horowitz Scholarship recipient, Dr. Tara Esmeili. Tara Esmeili is enrolled at the University of California, San Francisco.

Thanks to the generosity of our co-sponsors, Tom's of Maine and Colgate-Palmolive Company, all ticket sale contributions were made to the Foundation General Fund. The 2004-2005 AAPHD Foundation Committee was comprised of the following AAPHD members: Linda Niessen, Chair; Candace Jones, Marilyn Woolfolk, Joseph Doherty, Joseph Alderman, Alex White and Hermina McLeran.



Foundation Committee members, left to right: Joseph Alderman, Candace Jones, Hermina McLeran, Marilyn Woolfolk, Linda Niessen. Not pictured: Kim McFarland and Alex White



Left to right: Jane Weintraub with Lisa Chung, 2004 Herschel Horowitz Scholarship winner



Tara Esmeili, 2005 Herschel S. Horowitz Scholarship recipient







Left to right: Dushanka Kleinman, Alice Horowitz, 2004 Awardee Lisa Chung, Linda Niessen